Eagle Football Position Previews: Front Seven

8/31/2023 10:54:00 AM

*The seventh and final installment in a series highlighting position groups on the 2023 Morehead State football team. Lastly, the defensive linemen and linebackers who make up the defensive front seven. 

MOREHEAD, Ky. — It’s gameday in Morehead, and it is also time to introduce the linebackers and defensive linemen that make up the defensive front seven. 

In thr trenches, the interior defensive linemen are led by DL coach and Director of Football Operations Tanner Lurker,  who also leads the defensive ends and outside linebackers. 

Returning from last season’s squad are Coby Nile, Arvell Rogers, Nick Aguilera, Noah Benza, Tyler Rice, and Wilson McCraw. Benza led the returning Eagles in both sacks (one) and tackles for loss (two) in 2022. 

New to the Morehead State defensive line room this season are Terrell Spigner, Paul O’Brien, Jake Rhodes, Gabe Whittington, Carson Nichols, Landon Wright, Joshua Huerta, and Jase Bradley

The linebacking corps for Morehead State are experienced and ready heading into 2023, as Keenan Wolf and Jahleel Holmes lead the way. Wolf and Holmes combined for 117 tackles last season. 

Dylan Leonardis, Gabriel Smith, Kenneth Shaffner, and Isaac Armstrong are also back in the fold. 

Newcomers to the room include transfers Luke Bauer, Andre Nolan-White, Juan Donoso and Kairo Reid. Incoming freshmen Nigel Fodor and Josh Bowling round out the group. 

The Eagles kickoff the season tonight at 6:00 p.m. ET! Come out and support Morehead State as they take on West Virginia State in the home opener.

Check Also

What to learn about Legionnaires’ illness, lung an infection confirmed at Arkansas senior middle

A resident on the Methodist Village Senior Dwelling facility in Fort Smith, Arkansas, has been …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *